Macmillan Childrens Publishing Group

A John Matherson Novel

New York Times bestselling author William R. Forstchen brings us a terrifying story of an all-too-possible future. In one second, an electromagnetic pulse (EMP) sends America back to the Dark Ages. The nation struggles to rebuild itself after the EMP wipes out all electricity and plunges the country into darkness. John Matherson fights to save his family and his small North Carolina town as they suffer starvation, war, and countless deaths before beginning to recover technology and supplies they had once taken for granted. The road to recovery isn’t easy; rebuilding will take everything they have.

Months before publication, One Second After was cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read, a book discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a weapon that The Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe and Testament, this series, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future . . . and our end.

Books in this Series

The Final Day
g

The Final Day

A John Matherson Novel (Volume 3)
William R. Forstchen
Tor/Forge

A major release in the New York Times bestselling One Second After series, set in an alternate America rebuilding after an electromagnetic pulse, this is William R. Forstchen's The Final...

Avaliable in:

Physical Book eBook
Buy
One Year After
g

One Year After

A John Matherson Novel (Volume 2)
William R. Forstchen
Tor/Forge

Months before publication, William R. Forstchen’s One Second After was cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read. This thrilling follow-up to that smash hit begins...

Avaliable in:

Physical Book eBook
Buy
One Second After
g

One Second After

A John Matherson Novel (Volume 1)
William R Forstchen
Tor/Forge

New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly real...a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina...

Avaliable in:

Physical Book eBook
Buy
The John Matherson Series

The John Matherson Series

A John Matherson Novel
William Forstchen
Tor/Forge

This discounted ebundle includes: One Second After, One Year After, The Final Day

“Forstchen is the prophet of a new Dark Age. The wise will listen.” Stephen...

Avaliable in:

Available 06/13/2017

Pre-Order

About the author

William R. Forstchen

William R. Forstchen is the author of the New York Times bestseller One Second After and We Look Like Men of War, among numerous other books in diverse subjects ranging from history to science fiction. He has co-authored several books with Newt Gingrich, including Gettysburg: A Novel of the Civil War, Pearl Harbor, Days of Infamy, To Try Men’s Souls and Valley Forge. Forstchen holds a Ph.D. in History from Purdue University, with specializations in military history and the history of technology. He is currently a Faculty Fellow and Professor of History at Montreat College, near Asheville North Carolina. He is a pilot and flies an original WWII recon "warbird." He resides near Asheville with his daughter Meghan.

Mindy Clinard